slic3r.org »

Slic3r Manual

Profiles

Configuration in Slic3r is organized across three categories:

From the main view (the plater) you can quickly select the profiles you want to use for printing: a printer, a filament and a print style.

Creating Profiles

Open the desired tab and change the settings as necessary. Once satisfied, click the save icon to the left above the setting titles, and give a suitable name when prompted.

Saving a profile.

Saving a profile.

Profiles can be deleted by choosing the profile to delete and clicking the red delete button next to the save button.

Deleting a profile.

Deleting a profile.

Exporting and Importing

If you want to transfer your settings to another computer, or send them via e-mail, or store them along with your models, you can use the Export Config... command in the File menu. This will save all the values of the currently selected presets into a text file having a .ini extension. These files can be easily loaded back with the Load Config... command.

Note that loading a config file doesn't store it as a preset automatically, so it will be not remembered the next time you launch Slic3r. If you want to store it you'll have to go through the Print Settings, Filament Settings and Printer Settings sections and hit the "Save" button for each section you want to create a preset in.

The Export Config Bundle... allows to export the entire set of profiles to a single file (not just the selected profiles). This is handy if you want to clone a Slic3r setup from one computer to another, or make a backup.

Using a Custom Data Directory

By default, Slic3r stores its settings and profiles into a system directory, which depends on the operating system. Users are not supposed to touch such application preferences directories, so they're chosen automatically. However, Slic3r has a --datadir command line option that allows to use a custom directory. This can be useful for several customizations, such as keeping multiple Slic3r copies on a single computer, or for sharing configuration files across network.

Sharing Configuration across Network

If you have a network-mounted device you can simply launch Slic3r with the --datadir option pointing to the custom directory, for example:

slic3r.exe --datadir Z:\Slic3r-settings

On Linux and MacOS X you have another option instead of using --datadir: a link to the shared directory can be created where Slic3r looks for the default directory. This can used for example for synchronizing Slic3r presets using Dropbox. The first step is to find the path where Slic3r looks for its configuration:

$ /Applications/Slic3r.app/Contents/MacOS/slic3r --debug
wxWidgets version wxWidgets 2.9.4, Wx version 0.9922
Data directory: /Users/al/Library/Application Support/Slic3r

Now, after closing Slic3r, we move this directory to our shared folder:

mv "/Users/al/Library/Application Support/Slic3r" ~/Dropbox/Slic3r-settings

(Double quotes are needed because of the space in the path, but if you're doing this you should already know how to work with the terminal.)

And finally we create a symbolic link:

ln -s ~/Dropbox/Slic3r-settings "/Users/al/Library/Application Support/Slic3r"